Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/21/2020 6:57:47 PM EDT
Apologies if this has been asked / answered numerous times, but I'm a total newb here.

I'm passingly familiar with CA's draconian gun laws, and have read through the CA OAG website:

https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/travel

I'm flying into LAX. While I work in a gun-friendly, 2A revering State, my office is in LA (Studio City / Burbank, actually), but this is the first time I've felt compelled to bring a gun along. I am aware that there is ZERO CCW reciprocity with CA, so carrying is out, but I rent an apartment there (as well as my own car) and according to the above "official" web page I am allowed (the mere thought of that word makes me gag) to TRANSPORT a firearm as long as it is UNLOADED and locked in a container.

My choice of firearm is on the "CA Approved" list (a Nighthawk GRP) and the mags are 8-rounders. I'd like to bring the GRP, 3-4 mags, and a 50-round box of 230g Speer GDs. I assume I should keep all mags and ammo in a SEPARATE locked container as well(?). So, I'll have one locked Pelican with the GRP/holster and a second locked pelican with 3-4 depopulated mags and a full box of Speer GDs.

So, I'll pack both Pelicans into a checked bag, retrieve at LAX, take shuttle to rental car, put checked bag into back / trunk of said rental, drive to apartment, bring checked back into my apartment where I can then remove GRP and ammo and put the GRP into whatever "Condition" I so choose -- and that complies with ALL Commiefornia 2A-hating, rights-infringing laws?

Thanks!
Link Posted: 4/21/2020 7:33:08 PM EDT
[#1]
Nothing wrong with that plan.  Just check the airlines rules as well.
Link Posted: 4/21/2020 9:32:47 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Nothing wrong with that plan.  Just check the airlines rules as well.
View Quote

Thanks!
Link Posted: 4/22/2020 2:10:34 PM EDT
[#3]