Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/17/2020 4:10:49 PM EDT
Wife's employer closed up shop temporarily, will be a few weeks minimum.  I understand the waiting period for unemployment is waved.  Does she have too burn up all her accrued sick and vacation time before applying?

Also, she works a part time overnight sleep position at a different employer in addition to her full time day job.  Will those wages disqualify her from any benefits for her primary job?

Never dealt with this stuff before.  Thanks.
Link Posted: 3/18/2020 12:27:41 AM EDT
[#1]
normally you get unemployment if you are fired/laid off, IE not quit.  Yes you'd would have to burn any accused time and sever from employment to get unemployment.  Not sure if any type of stimulus or govt intervention would change that.  Not sure that it should.
Link Posted: 3/18/2020 4:54:23 PM EDT
[#2]
The only time I looked into it I was a part time student at night which disqualified me for any unemployment even though I was a full time worker.
Link Posted: 3/18/2020 6:45:53 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:Not sure that it should.
View Quote
So my wifes employer can say that you are still employed, you just won't be working until we decide, which is undetermined.  They are not offering no-pay, they are automatically using sick time first, then vacation.  So when business resumes she will have no PTO instead of her 80 hrs of sick and 100 hours of vacation she has saved to plan time off.

I suppose she should quit and get a job at some other closed business?  No looking for a handout, just trying to not get screwed.  We're not hurting for income, just pissed off.

She has always worked 2 jobs and I have always worked 50 to 70 hours a week.  We save time and don't use sick time as it accrues, we save it for when we're sick.  Once again punished for doing the right thing.
Link Posted: 3/18/2020 7:34:46 PM EDT