Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Handguns » Colt
Site Notices
Posted: 11/26/2021 5:54:01 PM EDT
Been looking at newer Colts and two have caught my eye.  The full size Wiley Clapp and the full size Combat Unit.
Has anyone had both or shot both and if so, what are your thoughts on them ?  The rail isn’t a deal breaker either way nor is the finish.
Link Posted: 11/26/2021 7:26:16 PM EDT
[#1]
I have the short clapp.  So far it has been a great one.  Maybe 1100
Rounds and a year or so of carry.
The grip screw bushings are unique, if that carries over to the 5”.
Mine seems well built, and the alloy ramp is a non issue.

Never held a combat unit.

Attachment Attached File
Link Posted: 11/27/2021 3:29:05 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Malhass] [#2]
I sold my combat unit , still have my clapp in commander 45 acp . Good luck finding any at a reasonable price tho .
Link Posted: 11/28/2021 9:31:50 AM EDT
[#3]
I have a Combat Unit Railgun...handled a bunch of Clapps but never shot one. I would expect them to all function the same.

Pete Single did the checkering on the Clapp guns; they'll be a little different visually from the factory checkered CCU guns, but function will be the same.

The Combat Unit guns are all S80/have Colt's firing pin safety; the Clapp guns are all standard fire control (what people keep calling S70, but Series 70 indicated a collet bushing and "accurizer" barrel; it had nothing to do with the fire control setup..)

For me, as my CCU gets carried on occasion, the Series 80 stuff is fine. It really does not impact your trigger; Colt ironed all those issues out right after introduction. I prefer a S80 gun over the USGI gun setups, but YMMV.