Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/15/2022 12:31:47 AM EDT
Note: I am unsure if this is the correct category for this information, but it seemed this was the best fit.  If it belongs elsewhere, please let me know.
Note: I am NOT a lawyer.  This is NOT legal advice.  This is informative in nature, and you MUST talk with YOUR lawyer about any fine details that you wish to clarify.

SB215 HAS BEEN SIGNED INTO LAW - 91 DAYS AND COUNTING

At approximately 4:50 p.m. on Monday, March 14, 2022, Gov. Mike DeWine signed Senate Bill 215, which will make it legal to carry a concealed handgun without a license in Ohio 91 days after signing.

SB 215 makes several important changes to Ohio's concealed carry laws:

IN OHIO:

It appears that obtaining a concealed handgun license will become optional, so if you are able to legally carry a concealed handgun with a license, you will also be able to carry without a license. The same rights and responsibilities apply in either case.

It appears that you will no longer have the duty to "promptly" notify every law enforcement officer during an official stop. Instead, you must disclose that you are carrying a concealed handgun only when an officer asks, unless you have already notified another officer.

If you choose to obtain a concealed handgun license, you will no longer be required to carry the license on your person.

References:

+ https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-summary?id=GA134-SB-215

+ https://search-prod.lis.state.oh.us/solarapi/v1/general_assembly_134/bills/sb215/EN/05/sb215_05_EN?format=pdf

Legal Summary:
https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/download?key=18493&format=pdf

Here is the SUMMARY text from the Legal Summary link:

Lawyer: Sarah A. Maki, Attorney

-- quote --
SUMMARY
+ Provides that a person who is a "qualifying adult" is not required to obtain a