Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/20/2021 12:52:06 AM EDT
1) Carry gun is a Colt Defender 3" and looking to purchase full size mags, Reason for getting full size mags is have two other full size 1911 and would like to use in them as well. Also they carry more rds

Plan to carry the compact mag in gun and full size as a spare.

Is this a good/bad idea using full size mag in a compact 1911?

2) Leaning towards the Wilson Combat EMT mags but there many EMT options. I have no experience with them but in other threads they well received.

The different versions, standard EMT, EMT HD+P and EMT-V. Price roughly are $34.00, $45.00 and $54.00

Have seen people talk about the EMT and EMT HD+P but no one talking about the EMT-V so far.

So is it worth it to go more expensive versions?  

3) Base Pad there are several options and sense this is for CCW thinking about steel Lo-profile. However some of the other options look nice too.

Another concern is the Lo-profile is steel unsure what type of steel. Carry IWB and at 6:30 position and it gets very sweaty.

4) Finish: they have a option for finish for EMT & EMT HD+P the Black Fluoropolymer Finish. Is this worth it?

Currently my mags will get some rust on the outside that faces the body but doesn't rust on the inside. I try to take of them but out fishing, mowing and etc there is sweating.

Don't want to get the finish and it comes off after a few years.

is the finish worth it?
Link Posted: 2/20/2021 5:10:49 AM EDT
[#1]
The EMT is their 8 round magazine. it was designed as a 8 round magazine from the ground up.
The metal is alittle thicker on the feed lips and the spring is square to be stronger.
It will also stick out the bottom of a full size gun about a 1/4 inch.
I have used them on my carry Commander since they came out.
So I have 8 in the mag and one in the chamber.