Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/1/2021 12:58:11 PM EDT
Just wondering if anyone offers something like a "blank" hammer for the 1911.

Basically a hammer with the lower half all cut as you would expect. Pivot hole, sear surfaces all finished. But the upper portion left as just a solid square blank that you can then cut and profile to whatever shape you want.

Figured with the popularity of customizing 1911s. Someone would offer something like that.
Link Posted: 5/1/2021 1:27:28 PM EDT
[#1]
When I consider how hard the steel a hammer is made from, I believe I would rather pick one of the many already available hammers on the market.

I am a proud graduate of WECSOG, but cutting a blank hammer to a visually appealing profile sounds like a lot of extremely hard work, with the potential to totally ruin the part.

Maybe I am just getting lazy in my old age, but that is my take on it.
Link Posted: 5/1/2021 3:57:47 PM EDT
[#2]
Makes me curious as to what profile your looking for if one not available doesn’t trip your trigger. I myself like standard commander or wide spur USGI.
Link Posted: 5/1/2021 4:06:17 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
When I consider how hard the steel a hammer is made from, I believe I would rather pick one of the many already available hammers on the market.

I am a proud graduate of WECSOG, but cutting a blank hammer to a visually appealing profile sounds like a lot of extremely hard work, with the potential to totally ruin the part.

Maybe I am just getting lazy in my old age, but that is my take on it.
View Quote

This. Seems like a lot of work for little pay off

Quoted:
Makes me curious as to what profile your looking for if one not available doesn’t trip your trigger. I myself like standard commander or wide spur USGI.
View Quote

I think it's the trigger that trips the hammer ;)

but seriously check out SVI style hammers if you want something different that you don't have to DIY?