Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/14/2019 7:47:23 AM EDT
I am curious about the enforceability of a non compete clause in a contract that I have signed. I am a professional photographer and signed a contract that states

Non-Solicitation.  Contractor agrees that, during the two (2)-year period after the termination of Contractor’s work for Company, Contractor shall not solicit or attempt to solicit, directly or by assisting others, any “Protected Parties” for the purpose of providing or performing any “Protected Activities.”  As used in this Section 10, “Protected Parties” shall mean customers and clients of the Company—including but not limited to, realtors, real estate brokers, real estate agents, developers, builders, contractors, homeowners associations, communities, decorators, and stagers—with whom Contractor had material contact during the two (2) years before the termination of Contractor’s work for Company.  As used in this Section 10, “Protected Activities” shall mean working as a real estate photographer by taking pictures for hire of real estate, including but not limited to land, buildings, houses, structures, neighborhoods, and communities.

(b)Non-Competition.  Contractor agrees that, during the two (2)-year period after the termination of Contractor’s work for Company, Contractor shall not compete against Company in the “Protected Area” by providing or performing any “Protected Activities.”  As used in this Section 10, the “Protected Area” shall mean the area where Contractor worked for Company at the time Contractor stopped working for Company.

Just curious if there is a legal way out of this for me?
Link Posted: 3/14/2019 8:58:18 AM EDT
[#1]
Move to Texas.
Link Posted: 3/14/2019 9:31:59 AM EDT
[#2]
Depends  upon the laws in your state.
Two years may be excessive.  Some states only allow one year non-compete.
Is the excluded area just local or larger?