Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/22/2018 8:43:03 PM EDT
i'm not a pro (used to stick weld some at a job years ago) and only need it for "want to build" stuff &
minor repairs.

used ok; I know Lincon buzz boxes are the standard, but what about the Harbar friegnt & other
BB store brands?

thanks
Link Posted: 10/22/2018 8:45:41 PM EDT
[#1]
Daisy chain a few car batteries together, get a set of jumper cables and pitter patter, let the slag splatter..

Serious though, just find a used Lincoln or Miller on CL, FB marketplace, or local auction site.
Link Posted: 10/27/2018 11:42:58 PM EDT
[#2]
Seriously though? Why not a used Lincoln buzz box?

Hell I paid $60 for mine. Spent another $15 on some 6011 rods and I can make metal stick together!
Link Posted: 10/28/2018 2:17:18 AM EDT
[#3]
I've toyed with the idea of getting a tiny little inverter stick welder. They're about $75.  Won't do really thick stuff and has a shitty duty cycle, but for how frequently, and what I'd use it on, it would suffice....but then it dawns on me that my MIG with flux core would do everything I'd want the tiny stick welder for.
Link Posted: 10/28/2018 8:45:30 AM EDT
[#4]
Can't remember the thread but was pointed to this Youtube video
doesn't look too bad for the price..some language NSFW
Link Posted: 10/28/2018 4:09:49 PM EDT
[#5]
I just used on an old Montgomery-Wards buzz box I was given for free years ago.

Still works on steel.

Think it has around a 5% duty cycle at maybe 50 amps.
Link Posted: 10/28/2018 5:23:07 PM EDT
[#6]
yea, i'll just have to keep haunting craigslist for a Lincon buzz box; last few i saw on there were near
the price of new ones, just have to keep looking
Link Posted: 11/24/2018 1:02:33 PM EDT
[#7]
Link Posted: 11/25/2018 3:05:22 AM EDT
[#8]
@FW_wife
Link Posted: 11/25/2018 12:30:07 PM EDT
[#9]
I don't really know how to weld, but I did pick up the HF stick welder a few years back.