Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/9/2022 2:01:10 PM EDT
with the rising cost of food, I am thinking of baking my own bread.

What do I need to know?? Do I need a  bread mixer? Yes Im a newby
Link Posted: 3/9/2022 2:15:22 PM EDT
[#1]
I bake sourdough - but I'm far from an expert.

A mixer is handy - but not necessary.  I think you get a better feel for the dough if you hand mix.  If you do get a mixer - get a good one.  At least some of the smaller Kitchen aid mixers use plastic gears in the planetaries - they won't stand up to mixing bread doughs.  Older Hobart made KA's will work if you can find one, I think the Pro series KA use metal gears and will stand up to mixing bread dough.  I use an Ankarsrum Assistant - kind of pricey, but its really good at bread dough.

First thing I'd do is go look up some of the No Knead bread recipes and give them a try.

I personally would avoid anything with specialty flours, high percentages of whole wheat, etc. until you can make a bread you family likes.

Keep it simple - Flour, water, salt, yeast.  Thats all you need.  I use mostly unbleached All Purpose white flour. I don't use specialty bread flours, but I do add 10% whole wheat to give the dough some structure.

I bake with sourdough - but that does add a level of complexity to the process.  I'd start with active dry yeast no knead bread recipes. Sourdough is an active living culture that you have to a.) get started, and b.) keep it alive.  Neither is difficult - but it's kind of a separate task set above and beyond making bread.

One nice thing about making bread is you can usually eat your mistakes.  I've been baking sourdough breads for 5 or 6 years and have yet to mess one up bad enough to throw out.

ETA:  Before buying a mixer I'd suggest a decent kitchen scale that weighs in grams.  They are not expensive and you'll have much better luck baking using a scale than tying to use measuring cups.