Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/14/2021 7:30:04 AM EDT
Alright, so my bullshit meter is going off with this guy that's a friend of a friend.

I meet him and he says he was in the Army. When I ask what his MOS was, he says "18B1P". I'm like ok, my alarm system always goes off when someone throws in a SQI with their MOS and it doesn't make sense to me that someone claiming to have been a SF Weapons Sergeant claims an level identifier of 10. So I ask him "don't you mean like 18B20 or something?" He says, "No, I was busted from SFC to PFC for some shit I got into" and declined to elaborate.

So the questions are, does the Papa SQI belong with an SF MOS? I thought it was implied but I'm no expert. My Dad has been retired from group for 40 years and has no clue what's current but doesn't recall a Papa SQI for SF.

Does your level indicator attach to your current rank or your highest NCOPD education level? Will you lose your 20 or 30 if you get busted? Also, the SFC to PFC seems like a court martial type situation and this guy was at the range with us... another red flag is his lousy shooting skills.

I've asked a few guys I know and they don't have answers either. It's not uncommon for me to chat with someone that was in and I mention I was a Ranger and have them ask "Were you a Victor or a Golf?" but I've never really heard anyone come out and give their full MOS unless it was particularly pertinent to the discussion. Usually just get the standard "11B" or "67T" or whatever.

What say the hive?
Link Posted: 12/14/2021 9:56:40 AM EDT
[#1]
Seems strange.
Link Posted: 12/14/2021 10:43:38 AM EDT
[#2]
Here is what I found for current "P" ASI's

Code: P4: Tactical Information Operations PlannerCode: P5: Master Fitness Trainer
Code: P7: Digital Forensic Examiner (DFE)
Code: P8: Basic Special Victims Investigator (BSVI)