Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/31/2022 8:19:02 PM EDT
I want to start working out. We have a cheap bench press setup cheap stationary bike and a few dumbbells. I have started to walk three miles each night. Tonight will be the second night. Going to keep it up. But what can I do for free weights. Is there a program or plan I can follow that’s simple and gives me somewhere to start. I’m new to all this.

Long term plan is to buy a new rack and bench but that will have to wait for me to save up.
Link Posted: 8/31/2022 9:22:15 PM EDT
[#1]
What are your goals? What weight amounts are the dumbbells?

Awesome first steps! Keep up the walking. I went from 240 to 185 just by walking 4 miles a night and doing body weight stuff, so it’s definitely attainable, and doesn’t require Rogue everything.

Having cheap tools isn’t a bad thing at all if it’s something work with and isn’t a safety concern.
Link Posted: 8/31/2022 9:58:48 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

Having cheap tools isn’t a bad thing at all if it’s something work with and isn’t a safety concern.
View Quote

I still have the bench and weights my dad bought me when I was teen and joined the wrestling team.  That was 40 years ago.  A lot of it is rusty.  I've added more plates and dumbbells over the years.  Don't pay retail, I got a pair of 30 pound dumbbells for $10 at Goodwill.  You can do good work with dumbbells.  Curls, presses, lunges, flys, rows, etc.  As an older individual I like lighter weights but lots of reps; makes functional muscle and endurance while avoiding injury.  Just watch your form, focus on the muscle/s you're working, and control the weights.  You start flinging things around and you'll hurt yourself.  I promise, if you stick with it for 30 days you'll see and feel the progress and want to continue.
Link Posted: 9/1/2022 10:30:27 AM EDT
[#3]
Quoted: