Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/4/2021 12:54:18 PM EDT

I was given some unexposed/new but expired (2009) x-ray films and want to extract the silver from it.  I want to do this as a project with my youngest son for fun and as a science lesson.

I have a degree in chemistry so I can learn how to do this.  From the little reading I've done, I would likely use sodium thiosulfate to dissolve the silver halide(s) and then reduce the silver to metal using sorbitol solution.  To do this, I want to remove the film from the black plastic and I'd like to do this with a safelight.  

But is a safelight even necessary?  Since a developer isn't being used, and the silver halide is not converted to silver metal, can the film be taken out of the package and placed in the sodium thiosulfate and dissolve the silver halide (chloride, bromide) like you would in a fixer solution for black and white photos?

There are many more questions that need to be answered such as how much silver halide the film contains and how much sodium thiosulfate % to use, but the safelight is the first step here.

Link Posted: 4/4/2021 1:10:10 PM EDT
[#1]
You only need a safelight to handle the film to put it in a cassette prior to exposure and to take it out post exposure to put it in the processor. For what you are doing you can do it all under white light.

Big tag to see how you do it and what your yield is. I spent a lot of time in Navy darkrooms and the silver recovery system was locked and we were warned not to even look at it too hard. I have no idea what the guts were like but it consisted of a blue plastic box that sounded like it had a motor inside. There was also some plumbing of course.

Link Posted: 4/4/2021 1:58:25 PM EDT
[#2]
Or

Considering the miniscule amount of metal per film; build an unlicensed xray generator and see what develops?
Link Posted: 4/4/2021 2:50:31 PM EDT
[#3]