Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/24/2022 9:28:45 AM EDT
Working with the PreSonus software & desk.

I'd like a PC laptop but need advice on what is the best hardware for the laptop like RAM, processing speed, etc
I have a large outboard storage device & would just add more for that purpose.
I'm not sure how much post production mastering I would be doing with this, probably very little but I'd like to be able to lay down good tracks.
I am a novice with this but have a good understanding of the recording process. I'm looking for good equipment.
Thanks
Link Posted: 6/24/2022 4:41:38 PM EDT
[#1]
If you are actually going to be using it for production and not just recording, then as much everything as you can get.
Link Posted: 6/24/2022 8:10:42 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 6/24/2022 11:27:43 PM EDT
[#3]
The best avenue to determine the processing power you need, would be to look at the requirements
of the interface you are going to use.

For example Presonus Audiobox USB 96
I use Presonus, as I like and use their stuff.
Tech specs
Computer system requirements:

Below are the minimum computer-system requirements for AudioBox USB 96.
macOS®

macOS version 10.13 or later
   200 MB storage space and 4 GB RAM for Universal Control (required for firmware updates)
   Available USB port

Windows®

Windows 10 or later (64-Bit Only)
   200 MB storage space and 4 GB RAM for Universal Control (required for firmware updates and low-latency ASIO support)
   Available USB port

Note this little caveat: The above are the hardware system requirements for this product.
DAW software and Operating System requirements vary.

Alrighty then.....
Let's look at the Presonus freebie software.
Studio One 5 Prime

System Requirements

macOS

macOS® 10.13 or higher (64-bit only)
   Intel® CoreTM i3 processor or better, or M1 processor running Rosetta 2
   4 GB RAM minimum (8 GB or more recommended)