Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/26/2019 10:46:06 PM EDT
Cool to know there are so many gun guys into brewing!

Been in the beer business for nearly 10 years. Been working in breweries for about half that. Sales, homebrew shops, bad breweries, good breweries, you name it!

I brew at a larger independent brewery now. Happy to answer any questions!
Link Posted: 4/26/2019 11:50:49 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 4/27/2019 9:16:01 AM EDT
[#2]
I work in the industry, too. Good to meet ya!

I stumbled into the industry in 1998 and stayed. Brewing isn't a passion of mine but I've greatly enjoyed doing it.

I started in the days of hand washed Hoff-Stevens kegs, and plastic wrap covered open top fermenters. Now I get fat at a desk and watch the brewers run Siemens, ProLeit, and whatever other control systems they run down there. Different world...
Link Posted: 4/29/2019 8:16:38 AM EDT
[#3]
Thanks guys!

Ex_Sanguine, you’ve been in the biz long enough to see how much has changed. I’ve only been doing this for a decade and I already feel like a dinosaur, ha!
I’m young and spry enough that I still enjoy lifting grain bags, graining out, and doing all that heavy lifting, but I’ll have to get that desk brewing job eventually. Pretty much all my family is in the trades and/or military, so I’ve seen the toll that years of physical work take on the body...

But it’s fun work! Great, close-knit community in Chicago, and a surprising amount of gun guys as well.
Link Posted: 4/29/2019 11:48:21 AM EDT
[#4]
This might be a stretch, but what's the biggest pitfalls people make when starting up a brewery?

Many of the new ones fail, some very quickly.
Link Posted: 4/29/2019 2:18:10 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 4/29/2019 4:15:49 PM EDT
[#6]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted: