Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/6/2023 1:36:15 AM EDT
For a beginner, how often should I run?

I want to add running to my workout routine and was curious on how often I should be running. I am brand new to running, I wanted to wait until I lost some weight before I started to try and save my knees/joints (lost 55lbs so far). So now I'm ready to start

Any tips/advice for a beginner?

Link Posted: 6/6/2023 4:34:09 AM EDT
[#1]
For a beginner I would say no more than three runs a week with at least one recovery day in between. You might want to start with intervals - run 5 minutes, walk 5 minutes, for a total of 25 minutes until you get accustomed to how it feels.

How old are you? That will make a bit of difference to what I would recommend...

I honestly have not thought about this much. I started running in high school, went directly into the military in the infantry and have been running ever since (well, not running 24/7 but I suppose you know what I mean...).
Link Posted: 6/6/2023 4:45:09 AM EDT
[#2]
Another vote for intervals. Using something like a Garmin watch would be helpful to track progress and things like VO2 max. Your body is capable of much more than you realize most likely, but obviously ease into things. Get a good pair of running shoes that you only wear for running.
Link Posted: 6/6/2023 5:58:20 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
For a beginner I would say no more than three runs a week with at least one recovery day in between. You might want to start with intervals - run 5 minutes, walk 5 minutes, for a total of 25 minutes until you get accustomed to how it feels.

How old are you? That will make a bit of difference to what I would recommend...