Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/7/2018 10:02:04 PM EDT
I have been an instructor with my agency for about 12 years, and I do a fair amount of teaching.  Outside of a few of our SWAT guys, I doubt any of our instructors have been to anything besides a basic  NRA LE firearms instructor training course.  While I believe these are good courses, they always seemed a little...dated to me.  We teach nothing but slow and methodical pieing around corners, except for "move to contact/active shooter" scenarios.  I never gave it much thought, as that's what I was always taught, but the more I act as a bad guy role player, the more I see that even when the student is doing the technique correctly, I will most likely be able to shoot them (or at least their gun) before they ever get a shot on me.  I've seen video of some folks who do their corners with much more speed--more of a pop-out, generally with two guys.  While they lose the protection of the corner, they gain a lot of "surprise," and can flood the hallway they are entering with twice the number of guns than a normal pieing technique.  What do you all use and prefer?

Thanks
Link Posted: 12/7/2018 10:45:43 PM EDT
[#1]
That corner isn’t protection from someone who is willing to fight.  Plus, trying to be slow and sneaky usually just ends up with your bad guy hearing and seeing you coming.
Link Posted: 12/7/2018 11:01:37 PM EDT
[#2]
If you don't slice the pie standing back from the doorway, you will always give away your location by having your weapon farther out in front of you than you can see.  We try to practice bringing your weapon back a little bit so that you aren't giving yourself away in that situation.