Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/6/2019 10:59:56 PM EDT
I've wanted to learn how to tig weld since I was in college.  I graduated in 1998, it was always impractical for me due to some combination of time, money, other interests, work, moving all over the world, etc.  I finally got my welder a few months ago - Lincoln squarewave 200.  They had a 25% rebate a few months ago, making the cost under $1200 and I couldn't resist anymore.  Wish I could've done it sooner, but it just wasn't practical for me until very recently.

My advice?  Wait for a good deal, but don't wait forever.  I hate the phrase, but "buy once cry once" applies.  I wrestled with the cheap import welders (ie everlast, etc) and am glad I went with Lincoln.  My time is very valuable to me, and the stories of dealing with warranty repairs on the low-end welders scared me.  If that's not a big deal to you then the cheap imports might be a good choice.  I like the lincoln - it does all I need, has more power than I need, and the local welding store services lincoln.

I'd never welded anything in my life before I got it.  I watched every YouTube video that exists and read two books.  After a couple hours of welding scrap metal together I upped my game with a harbor freight tube notcher and some 0.080 steel tubing.  It doesn't look like I've been welding my whole life and I'm no YouTube welding star, but I can hammer it flat and generally destroy it and it doesn't come apart so I'm happy.  I just finished my second tank of argon, so far I've made a few special wrenches, a digging bar, a small metal stove that the kids burn the yard sticks in, and a single shot barrel with integral silencer.

First tube welds:
Attachment Attached File

Flattened tube welds:
Attachment Attached File