Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/26/2020 12:46:18 PM EDT
Ok so this is something I’ve wanted to do for awhile, and i purchased some heavy weight bridle and latigo leather, i also purchased some 1” strapping, rivets and setter, and a hole punch with multiple tips.

What all do i need for sewing leather? I’m not sure what needles and tools i need to stitch it together, need some help there please.
Link Posted: 4/26/2020 1:10:10 PM EDT
[#1]
I am just getting started with leatherworking - the thread that piqued my interest is here:

https://www.ar15.com/forums/General/Dirtdivisions-kitchen-table-leather-projects/139-2295383/

Lots of more experienced leathercrafts workers commenting in that thread...

Link Posted: 4/26/2020 7:54:54 PM EDT
[#2]
I recommend buying Herman Oak leather for the best.
It makes no sense to spend the time and money making something out of substandard leather.

Springfield sells Herman Oak in 2 grades and in many pre-cut sizes or parts of the hide.
For concealed holster making I buy Herman Oak 7 to 8 ounce, grade 1, and I usually buy a "bend".  This is the hide from the shoulder to the rear and from the back to where it starts to get thin, flabby, and unusable.
Cost is $165.00 and ALL of it is usable, no waste.  
You can make belts from a thicker size, and one bend makes a lot of holsters and projects.

I buy most of my tools, chemicals, and the Herman Oak leather at Springfield Leather in Missouri.....

https://www.springfieldleather.com/

You can also buy some cheaper tools and chemicals at Tandy.

To do quality saddle stitching you'll need the following.

1. Egg-eyed saddle stitching needles.
These are blunt tipped and have an egg shaped eye.  These usually come in two sizes, size to buy depends on the thickness of your stitching cord.
Buy a package, you'll need two at a time and they do break.