Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/23/2022 4:46:55 PM EDT
Our neighborhood did not have a homeowners association until this year. The developer took care of everything and we knew eventually there would be a homeowners association once 90% of the lots were sold.

Then everyone in our neighborhood received a notice in the mail last week that the developer has started the HOA up and we owe fees for 2021 and 2022.

I don’t mind paying for 2022, but 2021 is over and we were never notified that we owed. The management company handling the HOA admits this but still insists we owe for 2021.

I want to make sure I am reading my deed restrictions correctly because I don’t think they are allowed to collect more than one year’s assessment. And assessments must be communicated for the upcoming year by December 1st. I brought this to the management company’s attention and they blew me off as not being a lawyer, I must be reading the deed restrictions wrong, and said I can pay or they can file a lien on the house. My call.

So how do the lawyers of Arfcom read these deed restrictions? Am I on the right track? Section 5 lays out the assessment policy.

Attachment Attached File

Here is the same section with my highlights

Attachment Attached File

So are they SOL on collecting 2021 fees? And this is happening to all homes in our development so I know I didn’t miss last year’s invoice in the mail.
Link Posted: 3/23/2022 4:54:45 PM EDT
[#1]
While I think your correct, if HOA needs the money now they could just do a special assessment now instead, or raise rates for next year.
Link Posted: 3/23/2022 5:21:27 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
While I think your correct, if HOA needs the money now they could just do a special assessment now instead, or raise rates for next year.
View Quote
A special assessment usually requires a positive vote by a majority of the home owners.