Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/30/2019 1:06:27 PM EDT
Background-

42 years old, 6'1", 230 lbs.
I strength train 3-5 days a week and try to run 1-2 days a week but have been slacking lately. Once upon a time, I was a Green Belt Instructor in MCMAP but that was 15 years ago.

We started with stretching and a light warm-up to get a nice sweat going. Fairly standard and nothing too outlandish.

Instruction for me this class centered on the full guard and scissor sweep from full guard. I enjoyed the mental aspect of each technique and the different combinations of submissions or sweeps from each position. We drilled these and I received constant correction to my technique along the way. I had to fight the temptation to Mongo my way into positions and instead focus on technique.

We finished with sparring. Being a no-stripe white belt, the name of the game was survival. Try to maintain guard or get back to guard if I lost it. My partner was a purple belt, 6'2", 250. I fully went into the sparring expecting to get choked out numerous times but I was able to stall him in my guard and scrambled well when I felt him beginning to pass. I was able to gain side control after the scramble but was swept when I tried to mount. We ended up with him in side control and finally finishing me with an Americana. Dude was HEAVY. Not just his weight but how he was able to use it to completely neutralize me in side control. Completely smothered me. Great cardio workout and I can already feel which muscles do the majority of the work (core and legs).

Overall a great experience and I can't wait for the next class. Until then, it's Youtube videos and Yoga.

I'm sure that I'm not the only white belt murder victim here. Share your stories, tips or general experience on your BJJ journey so I can get my osmosis on.
Link Posted: 5/30/2019 3:38:08 PM EDT
[#1]