Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/23/2021 8:48:46 PM EDT
Recently I noticed that some biz jet single point fueling systems have the ability to "de-fuel". This makes total sense, since you might have to board more pax than the current fuel state might allow.

I'm curious, though: how is this handled financially? Does the FBO buy the fuel back from you? At what rate? I bet it's easy to get hosed on the value of the fuel taken off.
Link Posted: 1/23/2021 9:09:56 PM EDT
[#1]
When I worked part-time as a ramp rat, whenever we de-fueled a kerosene burner, we used 1 specific truck for it (not all fuel trucks has the defuel capability) and ran the fuel through some really fine particulate and water filters before putting it back in service.

The aircraft owner was reimbursed at the FBO's purchase price or given a fuel credit if it was a home-based bird or a regular customer. Policy was minimum 100 gallons for a defuel, unless the plane was coming in for maintenance and had to be defueled; in that case, the fuel taken out was put back in after the maintenance was done.
Link Posted: 1/23/2021 9:42:19 PM EDT
[#2]
Some places give you a discounted credit
Link Posted: 1/23/2021 9:55:31 PM EDT
[#3]
Many FBO's will not de-fuel, and its understandable, lawyers and all...

Link Posted: 1/23/2021 10:24:50 PM EDT
[#4]
De-fueling can be a nightmare. My local FBO won’t do it but we have transferred fuel from one jet to another.
Link Posted: 1/23/2021 11:14:24 PM EDT
[#5]
I flew a Beech 400 for the air force for a bit... if we had fuel issues we'd normally just burn it down before taking off.  There are more than a few stories of a crew sitting on the ground for an hour with the parking brake set, letting it burn.

Admittedly, it was a relatively small tank on that bird.
Link Posted: 1/24/2021 1:02:48 AM EDT
[#6]