Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/8/2018 9:01:03 PM EDT
When I had my son I told my wife we're not telling him that I'm a veteran as I didn't want to plant that seed in his head, you know follow in dad's footsteps and all. If he does decide on his own so be it.

However now he's 5 and he found out somehow.
He constantly asks what I did in the Army, about war, equipment, tanks etc... Clearly he doesn't really understand any of it and won't give up until he gets answers, stubborn like his Dad.

I don't know how to play this. Am I being a selfish dbag? I did okay, thoroughly loved the job. But I been wounded twice plus the normal wear and tear so my body is tore to shit. Mentally I feel like I don't fit into "normal" society any more and that seems to be common amongst us. Thinking of him doing what we did or what I physically deal with everyday or worse yet ending up KIA doesn't sit well. When I watch him play Army I get a damn knot in my stomach.

I don't even like talking about this stuff with adults let alone my kids.

Just looking for some opinions/experience from other dad's.
Link Posted: 5/8/2018 9:40:12 PM EDT
[#1]
I know how you feel.  My kids always ask what I did and what war was like. Never been to war.

I tell them the truth.  I say war is not a good thing and it's not like the television. I say it's not a pleasant thing.

They both have stopped asking.
Link Posted: 5/8/2018 9:59:29 PM EDT
[#2]
When my son was six and asked, I told him war wasn't a game and there was no do-overs, everything was for keeps.

He pretty much lost interest after that.
Link Posted: 5/8/2018 10:19:23 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
When my son was six and asked, I told him war wasn't a game and there was no do-overs, everything was for keeps.

He pretty much lost interest after that.
View Quote