Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/1/2022 10:25:35 AM EDT
Hi gang.

I am trying to get some video of a reticle through a scope.  With my phone and a cheap action cam, the reticle and the scene behind it are both in perfect focus, just as though I were looking through the scope with my eye.  However, with a Canon D60, using various prime and zoom lenses, I cannot achieve focus on both at the same time; I can either have the reticle in focus, or the scene behind it in focus, but not both.

Obviously I am a total novice here.

Looking for some advice.  Is there a way to get a DSLR to have both focal planes in focus at the same time?
Link Posted: 5/1/2022 10:45:44 AM EDT
[#1]
Go to manual or aperture priority and stop way down?  Give that a shot.
Link Posted: 5/1/2022 11:15:13 AM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
View Quote

That helped a bit, thanks.  I think I am running into parallax issues with the optics I'm messing with.
Link Posted: 5/1/2022 4:50:41 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
That helped a bit, thanks.  I think I am running into parallax issues with the optics I'm messing with.
View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:
Quoted:
You may need a macro lens or other lens that has the minimum focus distance you need while providing an aperture on the order of f/32. You may also want to consider an adapter specifically for this purpose (example).
Link Posted: 5/2/2022 12:17:30 PM EDT
[#4]
tucansam: The problem you have is called "depth of field(DOF)." ie thickness when you focus on a subject and what is in-focus and out-of-focus. Some photogs want this effect and it is called "bokeh."

The DOF varies with distance, focal lenght of your lens, AND aperture.