Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/8/2019 1:18:42 PM EDT
I know I could look this up eventually, but I'm new to this and would like to hear other people's opinions and experience.

After messing around w/ my printer the last couple of nights I'm finding that I need to have a computer near it to deal w/ the card and gcode files.  I know I've read about various methods of controlling the 3d printers from different computers including a Raspberry Pi.   I'm probably going to put a NUC running Ubuntu w/ a full size monitor on the same desk as my printer.    What options does that open up for me connecting to the printer?
Link Posted: 11/8/2019 1:31:05 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 11/8/2019 1:37:30 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 11/8/2019 1:42:16 PM EDT
[#3]
I like Repetier! (coupled with a pi4) Lots of cool features!
Link Posted: 11/8/2019 2:49:40 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
That's the kind of info I am looking for.  I'm going to start w/ the NUC on the desk next to it.  That gives me a SD slot to put files on the card and a computer which can run Cura which I've got on it.  I'll keep reading up on what my options are.
Link Posted: 11/8/2019 2:51:05 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:
I would personally go OctoPi.

For $50, your setup with a 3B+, power supply and cable. Add $30 for webcam. Then use whatever computer you want, wherever you want to interface over your network. This is my exact setup. You could get fancy later and have the Pi control a solid state relay for the main power supply and completely turn off your printer and Pi after a print is done (or whenever you want to remotely). A very simply added button on the Pi natively acts as a "wake up" button when its idle to turn it all on.

Between that and the machine interface, you should be GTG.
View Quote