Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/22/2021 2:29:38 PM EDT
Any BOP here? Thinking of applying for a job with them that gets me closer to family. Just wanting to see how it is.
Link Posted: 3/22/2021 11:38:49 PM EDT
[#1]
Retired for a while now, but did 22 yrs.
For me, it was good. I was a Union electrician before I went w BOP (and now) and was a work supervisor running a crew of convicts inside that did the maintenance and new construction that we needed. Also became a firearms instructor and then a lead instructor. FWIW, cons are interesting and ... in many ways, no more “abnormal” than some of the staff you’ll work with. I found it to be part of a good career that I’m proud of. You can move up or often transfer to another location or agency if you can qualify and work the federal system a bit.
Benefits are good, too. You’ll meet some great people and some real asses. Learn from the good ones and keep your nose clean. Get all the training you can.

Stay safe
Link Posted: 3/23/2021 12:13:48 AM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Retired for a while now, but did 22 yrs.
For me, it was good. I was a Union electrician before I went w BOP (and now) and was a work supervisor running a crew of convicts inside that did the maintenance and new construction that we needed. Also became a firearms instructor and then a lead instructor. FWIW, cons are interesting and ... in many ways, no more “abnormal” than some of the staff you’ll work with. I found it to be part of a good career that I’m proud of. You can move up or often transfer to another location or agency if you can qualify and work the federal system a bit.
Benefits are good, too. You’ll meet some great people and some real asses. Learn from the good ones and keep your nose clean. Get all the training you can.

Stay safe
View Quote