Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/9/2022 10:30:06 PM EDT
I just started practicing on a Yamaha FG 700S in January and I'm really enjoying it.  If I'm still practicing regularly in a few months, and possibly taking lessons, I probably will upgrade to a much better guitar.  

I'm in the initial shopping stages and at this point I'm mostly considering Taylor & Martin.  I've gone pretty in-depth on Taylor guitars and my primary interests are the GT Urban Ash, American Dream 17 and 317, with the AD 17 being my favorite, based on numerous video demos.  The GT would be my next favorite.  Does anyone have experience with any of these models?  I probably will go to the local Taylor dealer next week and play what they have, which last I checked, is at least two of the three, if not all three.  

After that, I'll probably go in-depth researching Martins.
Link Posted: 3/9/2022 11:22:06 PM EDT
[#1]
IB4 “they have no bottom (end)”
Link Posted: 3/9/2022 11:35:25 PM EDT
[#2]
I have a 214CE, I like it. It’s the most well rounded for the budget I had and I really enjoy it’s sound and playability.
Link Posted: 3/9/2022 11:46:42 PM EDT
[#3]
I have a Taylor, but the ones you're talking about are much pricier versions than mine.  I have the 114ce that I bought about 6+ years ago at Musicians Friend, which was $799 at the time.  I've always liked it and love the sound of it, especially how it projects better than the shallow back Ovations I used to play.
Link Posted: 3/10/2022 12:36:50 AM EDT
[#4]
I have a Baby Taylor.  It sounds bigger than it is.
Link Posted: 3/10/2022 8:42:16 AM EDT
[#5]
When I bought my "good" acoustic I was debating between a Martin Eric Clapton and a Taylor 714. I played them both and went with the Taylor.

I've never regretted the choice.

Link Posted: 3/10/2022 9:19:06 AM EDT
[#6]