Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/25/2016 11:14:37 PM EDT
Part of this has been asked a 100 times, the other part I can't find opinions. I can't really spend over $1,000 on a shotty and I'm pretty new to 3 Gun.
I started out with my eyes on a Beretta 1301 but opinions on here have swayed me.
Then I thought about a Stoeger of some sort, lately a M3K. A good friend has a M3000 and loves it.
I recently found a FN SLP MARK 1 for right under $1,000.
Does anyone here have any opinions or advice on the FN?
I'm guessing based on most of the threads lately people like the M3K over the 1301?
I like 3 gun A LOT but don't get to go much because of life and family so my choice will be for some 3 gun, home defense, and just messing around and having fun.
Sorry for dealing with another newby but some of these threads have me a little nervous about a shotgun.
Thanks in advance!
Link Posted: 11/26/2016 3:42:09 PM EDT
[#1]
From what I hear (from Jesse), SLPs have more issues than one would like. If you do some looking, there are a fair few used Benelli M2's in the <$1000 range. I saw one in Cabela's gun library for $800 last night, but sadly it was sold before I could buy it. I think most people will say that it's a much better shotgun for the money. It is the tool of choice for most of the people in the pro circuit.
Link Posted: 11/26/2016 3:49:36 PM EDT
[#2]
I have only shot a FN SLP once.  I borrowed it from a friend and shot a 3 gun match with it.  It shot and felt very well.  Especially, when you consider I picked it up and shot the match with it.  The owner of the shotgun has been using it for years for 3 gun and has never had an issue with it.

However, I ended up buying a Versa Max Competition.  It shoots very well.  It is very comfortable for me to shoot.
Link Posted: 11/26/2016 5:58:15 PM EDT
[#3]