Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/10/2018 12:27:22 PM EDT
Ever since the tailhook pistol brace has become popular I have been seeing people modify existing stock assemblies on firearms that do not have tailhooks made for them by cutting off the rear stock portion and attaching a tailhook, I also see some companies make adapters for tailhook without selling the actual tailhook. Is this perfectly fine to do as long as you are not altering the actual tailhook, I was always under the impression that pistol braces were something that are designed as a unit and then approved by the atf in a specific configuration.
Link Posted: 4/11/2018 7:44:10 AM EDT
[#1]
I am not a lawyer but I agree that you have to be very careful on knowing where exactly the line is with regards to "pistol braces". I have read opinions that even something like removing the factory velcro strap could be considered a "modification" that voids the approval letter and turns your set up into an SBR.

Again, I am not an expert and I am not telling anybody what to do or what not to do.
Link Posted: 4/11/2018 12:50:08 PM EDT
[#2]
Nobody knows.

About as simple as it gets.

Doc
Link Posted: 4/12/2018 11:18:37 AM EDT
[#3]
I'm going with the opinion that as long as it functions as it was intended(whether or not it is) then I don't see the ATF pursuing it.
Link Posted: 4/12/2018 11:24:55 AM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Nobody knows.

About as simple as it gets.

Doc
View Quote
Truth!  Technology is so far ahead of the 30’s and 60’s gun laws it’s not funny. As soon as the ATF scratches their ear, ten more itches occur. If Congress had a lick of sense they would repeal all the gun laws.
Link Posted: 4/13/2018 8:05:22 AM EDT
[#5]