Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/28/2017 12:03:47 AM EDT
Ever since I was a kid playing with models of Huey and Cobra gunships I've always thought it'd be extremely cool to own a deactivated (i.e. all firing systems, wiring, etc. removed) 7 or 19 round pod.

Is this even in the realm of possibility? What's the legality involved? I mean realistically it's just a steel cylinder with holes in it I swear I've seen surplus ones for sale years ago but can't recall the details. And I know I've seen inert training 2.75"/70mm rockets for sale. I believe someone on ARF has one, same guy that's got an inert AIM-9 maybe?

Sorry if this is a stupid question. Thanks for any information guys.
Link Posted: 11/28/2017 12:05:34 AM EDT
[#1]
I'm not a lawyer, but I believe that the rockets themselves would be the DD, not the aerodynamic fairing and ignition system.
Link Posted: 11/29/2017 11:05:35 AM EDT
[#2]
The pod itself is just a carrying device so no. Here is one being offered by ordnance.com

2.75" pod.
Link Posted: 12/1/2017 11:44:45 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
The pod itself is just a carrying device so no. Here is one being offered by ordnance.com

2.75" pod.
View Quote
Thanks!
Link Posted: 12/4/2017 9:47:20 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I'm not a lawyer, but I believe that the rockets themselves would be the DD, not the aerodynamic fairing and ignition system.
View Quote
Why quibble over $200 when you're activating a 19 shot rocket pod?
Link Posted: 12/11/2017 11:38:28 PM EDT
[#5]
I'm going to take the contrary view and ask why a rocket pod WOULDN'T be considered a DD.  It's a serial numbered, reloadable, rocket launcher that launches rockets that are clearly destructive devices themselves.  It really wouldn't be any different than a bazooka except it has more barrels.