Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/21/2018 4:52:26 PM EDT
I have about ten thousand 124gr. Gold Dot and HST bullets that I plan to load into new unfired brass for a rainy day. In the past I have used HS6, AA#7 or Power Pistol for this type of work.

However, it's been a few years since I loaded full power 9mm so I thought I would find out what the rest of you guys are using. Are there better powders than the above out there for this purpose?

A couple folks I talked to at the LGS the other day recommended Alliant BE-86 and AutoComp but I have no experience with either of those.
Link Posted: 7/21/2018 5:13:39 PM EDT
[#1]
Quoted:
I have about ten thousand 124gr. Gold Dot and HST bullets that I plan to load into new unfired brass for a rainy day. In the past I have used HS6, AA#7 or Power Pistol for this type of work.
View Quote
I have never gone wrong with HS6 in 9mm, except the Taurus PT-111 I bought a while back didn't like it, so I switched to HP-38.  Most of what I load in 9mm is 115 grain and while my Taurus loves them with HP-38, it doesn't seem to be as fond of 9mm with 124 grain bullets, but that's just one gun.

Alliant's Bullseye, BE-86 and Sport Pistol are all comparable with each other and I wouldn't hesitate to give any one of them a try.

I don't load batches which number in the thousands.  I consider a batch of 200 rounds to be big so it's no problem to weigh every charge.  That's why I will mention - but not recommend - Hi-Skor 800-X.  It has a profile much like Unique but meters very consistently.  If you don't mind weighing each charge, I have found it to work well 9mm, 38 Special and 45 ACP.

Good luck.  Please post what you decide so that the rest of us can learn from how you made the decision.
Link Posted: 7/21/2018 6:12:19 PM EDT
[#2]