Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/13/2018 11:26:40 PM EDT
I've been reloading for about two years on a Rock Chucker.  I recently purchased a Dillon 650 and have only ran two sessions so far. I'm starting with 45 ACP.  During my first session, I ran into a few small primer cases. Being that it was my first time using the press, and I hit the first SP case on the fifth pull, I panicked a little and sat there trying to figure out what to do.  Everything worked out and nobody died!

Tonight, before adding powder or primers, I resized and recapped a dozen cases and sat them on the side. Then I got going.  When I experienced a SP case, I simply removed it from station 2 and replaced it with one of the decapped/resized cases and kept on pulling.

I hope this helps other new progressive users.
Link Posted: 2/14/2018 1:38:17 AM EDT
[#1]
Yours is a great idea.  I took a different approach but yours is a good one.

I've taken to sorting my 45 ACP brass (before sizing) to cull the small primer cases.  There's nothing wrong with them and I have nothing against the design, so I save them.  I have well over 100 now and will someday reload them and use them.
Link Posted: 2/14/2018 1:56:25 AM EDT
[#2]
that works or just pull the case and move on and keep an eye on the runaway truck ramp for the primer that wasn't used
Link Posted: 2/14/2018 12:46:57 PM EDT
[#3]
I think making a run on a progressive is al about the set up.

Sort your brass, could be as simple as making sure they are all the same caliber (9MM/9MM mak/380 acp) or checking for small primers, or chrimped primers. Any one of the aforementioned mix ups will cause a stoppage in your procsess which would not be a big deal if you were loading on a single stage where you would just take that single case out of the batch and move on.