Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/13/2020 8:58:59 PM EDT
I think I'm interested in getting a medium magnification night vision clip on to supplement my thermal habit and to provide a more positive target ID.  I've never used one before.  I plan for it to be switched between rifles and be mounted in front of a 1-6, 2.5-10, and 2.5-15 scope.   Rifles are 5.56, 6.8SPC, 6.5 Creedmore, and a SCAR17 in 308.  Most of the time magnification will be less than 10X, and more often around 6X.

My limited internet search says that some of the lighter weight/lower cost options won't work with rifles over 5.56, which takes out the PVS24.   The PVS-27 and 30 are readily available, but weigh over 3 pounds.  I'm old, low speed and high drag, and would prefer not to have to drag that weight around.  I'm also unable to pay new Knight's prices for their lighter weight UNS models.  What's out there that works, durable, is relatively affordable, and relatively light?

TIA!
Link Posted: 2/13/2020 9:23:00 PM EDT
[#1]
Quoted:
I think I'm interested in getting a medium magnification night vision clip on to supplement my thermal habit and to provide a more positive target ID.  I've never used one before.  I plan for it to be switched between rifles and be mounted in front of a 1-6, 2.5-10, and 2.5-15 scope.   Rifles are 5.56, 6.8SPC, 6.5 Creedmore, and a SCAR17 in 308.  Most of the time magnification will be less than 10X, and more often around 6X.

My limited internet search says that some of the lighter weight/lower cost options won't work with rifles over 5.56, which takes out the PVS24.   The PVS-27 and 30 are readily available, but weigh over 3 pounds.  I'm old, low speed and high drag, and would prefer not to have to drag that weight around.  I'm also unable to pay new Knight's prices for their lighter weight UNS models.  What's out there that works, durable, is relatively affordable, and relatively light?

TIA!