Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
Member Login

Posted: 1/3/2021 11:17:35 PM EST
Firstly, I apologize if this is in the wrong forum. I didn’t know where else to put it.

I’m relatively new to rimfire, but with the current cost of ammo and a bad influence of a friend letting me shoot some suppressed .22lr, I was hooked. I immediately bought a mk IV lite, and a deadair mask. The first day I shot it I didn’t have a single hiccup. I then took it to the range a second time, and the first 3 rounds of both magazines go nose up above the chamber and basically crimp. I realized I didn’t have this issue the first day because I was only loading mags to 6 for 3 shot groups. I figured it could be mag related so I cleaned the ones I had, and ordered 4 stainless steel 22/45 mags from a dealer. They got here today, and same problem. Every one of the first 3 rounds go nose up. I’ve read about ‘tuning’ the magazines, but I’d like to avoid that on a brand new firearm that I expect to work a reasonable amount of time for a ..22LR pistol. Does anyone have any suggestions? Ruger told me to leave mags fully loaded for a month and if that didn’t solve the problem they’d replace my mags. My buying of brand new mags leads me to believe that 2 additional new magazines won’t fix my issue. Sorry for the essay and thanks for your time.
Link Posted: 1/3/2021 11:49:58 PM EST
What ammo? I have had issues with cheap lead nose ammo in my Ruger Standard (older version of the Mark IV) but those would fail to chamber and get jammed. Still, might try some different ammo. I have not had any issues in my new Mark IV but I also quit using cheap ammo and save that for my 10/22 that eats everything.
Link Posted: 1/3/2021 11:57:46 PM EST
I forgot to mention that. I’ve run 4 different types of ammo, all copper plated. 2 hollows and 2 round nose
Link Posted: 1/4/2021 6:07:12 AM EST