Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/21/2019 2:11:23 AM EDT
Im brand new to reloading.  I know there have been a lot of reloading bench threads and I have searched a lot of them but Im sure I missed a lot.  The bench will be an L shape.  7' wide, 2' deep.  The L shape will be on the left side and extend out 18" from the main bench.  Im looking for help on where to mount the press how tall to make it and what materials for the top.

It seems like there are hundreds of ideas on what to use for a top and I saw many good ideas but it never hurts to get fresh ideas.  I have an idea how I want to build the frame and legs but I won't turn down any advice on that part of it either.  My thoughts on building the top was two yellow pine 2 x 12s side by side and then topped with 1/2" plywood to get rid of the seam and then topped with laminate counter top sheet for easy cleanup.  My thoughts were the ply wood probably isnt needed for strength but it will help and the laminate would be better over plywood than being directly over the 2 x 12s, especially on the seam.  Laminate is cheap, a 30" x 120" will cover everything i need and is only $31.  Is there any down side to the laminate for a bench top?