Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/7/2018 6:50:45 AM EDT
gday,

Really odd request from down under today. I'm a professional pest controller and contracted by farmers and government agencies to destroy pests on land.

I need a can for a job. The contract requires the use of a suppressor to limit the rifle report. The agriculture department insists on using a "sound moderator" as the neighbours have complained before about noise when shooting.

I've never needed the use of a suppressor before, as all my contracts have been in really remote areas either on a motorbike or in a helicopter.
I've got my PTA (Permit to acquire) approved by the state Firearms registry (the US equivalent of a NFA tax stamp), which means I have permission to register a suppressor of my choice.

I don't want to import a suppressor into the country, as that requires an import permit from the Attorney Generals office. I essentially have to ask permission from the feds, and that is a really really strung out ordeal. I have permission from the state government to procure a suppressor, not the federal gov. Involving them to import the suppressor can take 6 months or more.

For the cost of shipping some baffles, end caps, a tube + $160 gunsmith signature I can give those components to a gunsmith who can drill a few holes and within the hour 'make' a suppressor for me. So much easier than importing one.

All up the project should cost me much much less than importing a commercial can from the US and save me the migraine from the AG department.

I had to wait for 13 months for the permit on my Ruger AR to come through so it was allowed into the country.... sad times we are in...
Link Posted: 6/7/2018 7:44:44 AM EDT
[#1]
What you're describing is a "solvent trap" suppressor kit. It might behoove you to join over at form1suppressor.boards.net. The site is geared towards those interested in and the building of those exact items.