Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/15/2018 3:28:37 AM EDT
Good moring !!

What is the opinion on the lyman great Plains and Plains rifles ? I understand the only difference is the twist rate of the barrels,  one is for round balls , the other made to shoot modern style bullets ? Can one or the other handle both styles , or is it round balls , or bullets ?

I see both are available in percussion or flintlock . For a new to black powder guy like me  what would you recommend ? Personally I'm leaning towards percussion just because it's easier as I said I'm new to Black Powder firearms?

I know pedersoli,  and Uberti make a hawken style rifle , but those are both premium models retailing around 1300 each !

Lastly , if you were me are there any other Hawken style rifles out there preferably ones that could shoot both modern style and Lead round balls that would be a good quality gun for a new guy like me?

Thanks guys !!
Link Posted: 6/15/2018 7:23:37 AM EDT
[#1]
Unless it's changed:

Great Plains   slow twist, best for balls
Great Plains Hunter   fast twist, better for conicals.  Accuracy with balls only with light charges.

I have many muzzleloaders including two Lymans.  A Deerstalker, purchased used and is fine.  The other is the Great Plains, purchased new, it is a major lemon.  Nothing I've tried produces better than a four inch group at 25 yards.  Also had sharp edges on the trigger guard and the rear sight was crooked casting.  Lyman replaced those but should not have been that way from the factory.

Many people love the GPs however I've also read comments they need to be shot a couple hundred times for the bore to smooth out and shoot well (I've done that).  The narrow sharp butt was so bad for me that I had it cut off and a pad installed.  Most of my other rifles will 'cloverleaf' or near so at 25 yards.  Meaning shots are touching or almost so.