Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/20/2020 4:39:53 PM EDT
So, I am really a beginner to reloading generally--fundamentally a beginner. I've gone through the resources, and am still having trouble getting info that will get me from the beginning to the end of the process as a beginner.

My goal is to reload slowly, not bulk, and to make the best precision rounds I can make. I'm willing to spend what I need to so I don't have to purchase upgrades as I progress in experience, but I see no need to go for anything but a single-stage, as I intend to do everything as carefully as possible with precision rounds in mind. The calibers I want to reload are .233/5.56, 300 bo, etc. up to .308, 6.5 creedmoor and even .338 Lapua magnum. No real intention to reload 9mm or pistol cartridges at all, and if helpful, I am happy to learn with .223/5.56 as the basis of explanation.

Would really appreciate feedback on the entirety of the process. From equipment needed, recommended powder/primers, etc. I am very much willing to buy once and cry once.

Thanks in advance

-guy who has only ever used factory rounds

Link Posted: 9/20/2020 5:57:36 PM EDT
[#1]
I think its Aksnowrider who has a really good thread on his process in the precision rifle forum. I'll see if I can find it.
Link Posted: 9/20/2020 5:59:39 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 9/20/2020 6:00:56 PM EDT
[#3]
Muuuch appreciated
Link Posted: 9/20/2020 6:03:08 PM EDT
[#4]
Go get yourself one or two or three reloading manuals. At the beginning of the book, before you hit all the actual load data common is generally some good instruction on how to get into reloading. Read that entire section once or twice in each book.

Then read threads in this forum and the precision reloading forum. Believe it or not, the questions you are asking have been asked many times here and there's a lot of good conversation just waiting to be read.