Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/15/2022 12:06:35 PM EDT
I'm going to start using my Dillon XL 650 for loading 5.56, 6.8 SPC and other rifle calibers. Should the full-length sizing dies be setup to expand the necks or will the power funnel provide the needed expansion?

I haven't chosen which dies I'm going to buy and the answer to this question will help me decide. For context, I'm new to reloading rifle cartridges but very experienced reloading pistol calibers. I purchased my XL 650 just a month or two after Dillon started selling that model (I think that was 1992).

Thanks in advance.
Link Posted: 9/15/2022 12:24:56 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 9/15/2022 12:49:45 PM EDT
[#2]
Study the front of any quality reloading manual
Rifle reloading of bottle neck cartridge does require case neck expansion.

Step 1 inspect cases and clear any debris
Step 2 cleaning cases is an optional step
Step 3 lube cases including inside case neck
Step 4 Follow die makers instructions to set up FL Sizer
Step 5 Size cases
Step 6 Clean off case lube
Step 7 Check case length and trim as needed.  Chamfer and deburr the case mouth to ease bullet seating
Step 8 Prime cases
Step 9 Charge cases with powder charge selected
Step 10 Set up Seater Die.  Most have a built in crimp function.  For you place case on ram and raise it up. Screw in seater die till contact the case mouth.  Then back off die one rotation and lock in place.
Step 11 Check with reloading manual and then start seating your bullet.  For simple purposes follow COAL provided by the bullet maker for your cartridge.  To set the COAL  It will vary some what.  Most accurate way to check is with a bullet comparator measuring off the ogive.
Step 12 Start seating bullet, till you engage seater stem.  Then drop ram and turn whole case 180 degrees and finish seating the bullet.