Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 3/11/2018 4:40:01 PM EDT
I have owned 3 Benelli M4 shotguns over the past 12 years.  I have never owned or shot the short barreled version.  My variants had the standard full size pistol grip stock as well as the skeleton collapsible stocks.  I've had ones with the abbreviated mag tube, and ones with the full length mag tube.  I have shot thousands of rounds of slugs, buckshot, birdshot ( real light weight stuff to real heavy turkey loads and steel waterfowl loads as well ).  I have shot the gun with a red dot on top, ghost rings only, and different rifle scopes trying to make slug hits and hundreds of yards (just messing around type of stuff).
I have only owned 1 Beretta 1301, it is completely stock.  I have also shot a wide variety of ammo through it, mine is the tactical so it doesn't have choke tubes like the M4.

Let me simply say, I am not an expert and I don't claim to be one.  This is my opinion based on my experiences, your experiences may lead you to different conclusions.

The Benelli M4 is physically a better built gun, I have simply never held a better built shotgun than a Benelli M4.  With that said the 1301 is a very well built, very well assembled gun and I can't find anyplace that they left anything lose or not centered properly.  The M4 has a lot of metal parts that Beretta chose to sub plastic instead.  For example the rear sight and the rail are both plastic, I'm not saying that's bad but there is a reason there is a aftermarket community because of shortcuts like that.  The M4 new goes anywhere from $1,500-2,000 I believe depending on model, the 1301 I paid 750 out the door brand new.  With the price difference maybe it isn't fair to compare the two guns?  I don't think so because Beretta is clearly going for the American civilian looking for a tactical shotgun and the M4 is THE tactical shotgun.