Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/26/2021 9:59:44 AM EDT
Howdy folks,

Still new here, however been messing with NV since my Jr High School science fair project in which I built a GEN0 scope using that old 1602 'nam tube. I'm also a flight simulation engineer.

I have a NAIT NVPS-10 NV unit I bought from a dealer back in 1995. Over time the plastic housing is now cracking and falling apart. Last time I tried to power it up, I had to squeeze from the front to rear just to light up the tube. The original dealer said these sometimes do degrade over time, not the IIT but the housing! I call NAIT hoping they had a spare housing laying around some where, nope. So I'm removing the IIT and plan to install it into a PVS-14 housing.

So, I managed to remove the IIT successfully, well sort of. I removed the front objective mounting plate and the rear ocular plate. Then blue painters tape over the front of the tube and used a medicine bottle to press the tube out the back of the housing. Even thought it came out fairly easily, I then observed that the housing did not have contacts but two small gauge wires soldered to the tube contact and housing. The solders joint were small and the wire separated from the tube without any issues. So be it, the housing is junk anyway.

Now is when it gets bad. I removed the IIT from a plastic sleeve surround it and found corrosion all over the tube! Damn, how did this get like this. Well if you look at the corrosion pattern it definitely was like that when it was installed as that pattern does not match the plastic sleeve at all. The corrosion rectangle around the contacts, well this tube is used and was pulled from god knows what. I treated this unit carefully, it has never gotten wet.

IIT Corrosion!

Next message will be more images as soon as I get the time.

---

Link Posted: 3/26/2021 11:22:55 AM EDT
[#1]