Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/25/2022 10:07:10 PM EDT
Just installed an 80 degree LP in my AP5-p and it sounding quieter than my full size AP5.  Same CGS Mod 9 can on both hosts.  Anyone experience the same?

Would it be worth throwing in a 90 degree LP in full size to make it sound as quiet as the k variant?
Link Posted: 4/26/2022 9:20:00 AM EDT
[#1]
I have little experience with this, but just thought I'd ask...

Any chance your ammo was subsonic in the shorty and super in the full size? That makes a pretty big difference and 3" of barrel isn't trivial for 9mm.
Link Posted: 4/26/2022 9:26:23 AM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I have little experience with this, but just thought I'd ask...

Any chance your ammo was subsonic in the shorty and super in the full size? That makes a pretty big difference and 3" of barrel isn't trivial for 9mm.
View Quote

This was my first thought as well. The velocity out of the full length barrel, depending on the ammo, is potentially noticably higher. Try 147g in a non +P+ load out of the full length and I think you'll find the the full length to be quieter.
Link Posted: 4/26/2022 10:33:50 AM EDT
[#3]
Both are subsonic loads with k and full size.  I reload and have a chrono…
Link Posted: 4/26/2022 10:46:24 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
Both are subsonic loads with k and full size.  I reload and have a chrono…
View Quote

What are the chrono numbers for both guns? I am willing to bet that the ballistics answer already provided to you is still the answer. With the shorter barrel, odds are the subsonic load is not reaching the same speed as it is in the longer barrel.
Link Posted: 4/26/2022 10:49:26 AM EDT
[#5]
Quoted: