Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/16/2020 4:08:00 PM EDT
I have been really wanting to learn how to pin and weld muzzle devices on my own for years now and think it's time to bite the bullet.

My problem is I have zero welding experience and don't want to drop a lot of $$ on a welder that will likely just get used a few times a year making a single tack on the muzzle devices.

I have been eyeing up a harbor freight flux welder but wanted to double check if it would be adequate for something like that. The money saved is not worth the risk of having the weld fall off mis competition.

Any input?

Thanks
Link Posted: 11/16/2020 4:16:19 PM EDT
[#1]
I have a Miller and do them often but a cheap welder will be fine for that. As a matter of a fact, a user here that goes by TigWelder has me wanting a Tig Welder and I found one that has great reviews on HF that was not that expensive so you may want to look into a Tig. I want to say it was under $400 but I wanted the next step up.
Link Posted: 11/16/2020 4:52:11 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I have a Miller and do them often but a cheap welder will be fine for that. As a matter of a fact, a user here that goes by TigWelder has me wanting a Tig Welder and I found one that has great reviews on HF that was not that expensive so you may want to look into a Tig. I want to say it was under $400 but I wanted the next step up.
View Quote

Thanks for the info! I'm vaguely aware of the different welding types - is TIG the way to go for this sort of thing, or will any type work?
Link Posted: 11/16/2020 5:07:20 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:

Thanks for the info! I'm vaguely aware of the different welding types - is TIG the way to go for this sort of thing, or will any type work?
View Quote