Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/14/2018 4:48:45 PM EDT
Just got a PVS14 and I'm short on funds.

However I want to get out and do some night shooting.

Is it worth it to get a cheaper IR laser like the lasermax or better to save up for a Steiner OTAL?

Are there other better cheap options?

I figure the lasermax could be put on a pistol after I get a better IR laser.
Link Posted: 2/14/2018 6:41:35 PM EDT
[#1]
I got a Lasermax UNI-IR when they first offered them Class I, and have been very pleased with it. Before that, I only had experience with the PEQ-2A.

I still run my UNI-IR on a 11.5" upper, opposite a Surefire m952v for illum. It works great.
Link Posted: 2/14/2018 7:38:42 PM EDT
[#2]
I went really cheap and got one of those G-Sight Gladiators for $37 from optics planet. Was $49 regular price. I haven't owned many lasers so I'm no expert but I'll tell you, it's worked flawlessly.  I lasered 1200 yards with my Lica Geovid binoculars and you can see the laser at that distance no problem.  Tracking was dead on when adjusting it. The only problem I've had is the Halo around it when using the PVS14 Gen 3 Pinnacle with it.  My IR illuminator fixes that but then someone else can see you.  The Halo isn't as much of a problem further out or in brighter conditions. Oh, and isn't very compact. Fine for what I do though.
Link Posted: 2/14/2018 10:02:30 PM EDT
[#3]
My UNI-IR runs fine for years. Like KB, I have had it since it first came out.
Link Posted: 2/14/2018 10:35:43 PM EDT
[#4]
If you can find any Crimson Trace Rail Master micro IR lasers, they are excellent.  Last year they were blown out since they were being discontinued, I grabbed a bunch so I could have one for each gun I use at night.  They weigh basically nothing and work great.  I also own the Laser Max Uni-IR, I much prefer the Crimson Trace unless it is for a pistol that I need to mount a light on as well.