Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/23/2018 11:48:24 PM EDT
I realize tactical gear is not usually leather but I don't know where else to post this

So long story short, I had a leather holster in a box and mice decided that box was a great place so set up shop and the holster got stained (I assume mouse pee).  It is stained but not too bad, but I want to clean it up.

I have no idea how to do that, I've never tried to clean leather before or in fact do anything other than keep it from getting rained on.

I found this but it sounds like they're just guessing.  In the end they just recommend saddle soap, 'conditioners' (??), lederbalsam(???) or neatsfoot oil.  I've at least heard of neatsfoot oil but how does any of this clean a stain off?

Has anyone run into this before with leather goods?
Link Posted: 2/24/2018 9:14:58 AM EDT
[#1]
I have had that happen.  The trash man got it and the mice paid dearly.   Bleach water is commonly used, but on leather IDK.
Link Posted: 2/24/2018 3:25:48 PM EDT
[#2]
I used a burn barrel
Link Posted: 2/24/2018 8:25:57 PM EDT
[#3]
Things are not looking good for my holster...
Link Posted: 2/24/2018 8:32:29 PM EDT
[#4]
https://www.wikihow.com/Remove-a-Urine-Stain-from-a-Leather-Couch
Link Posted: 2/24/2018 9:09:44 PM EDT
[#5]
My lesson was to store all that extra gear in Rubbermaid boxes.  Cheap insurance.

You could rinse it with a mild Lysol solution and leave it in the sun for a few days.  Treat it with something leather friendly after.
Link Posted: 2/26/2018 1:22:23 AM EDT
[#6]
i cannot help whatsoever. just came here to tell you this is probably the finest thread title ive ever read here
Link Posted: 2/26/2018 8:05:11 PM EDT
[#7]
Submerge and soak in water and dish soap, scrub, repeat as necessary. Soak in clean water to remove soap. When dried, re-oil/grease with Pecards, Sno Seal, or Obenauf's. I've got all kinds of crap out of leather using this method.