Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/29/2018 6:59:28 PM EDT
Did you order a Raw 80% or one that had been anodized already? How did you prep the part for either the raw 80 or the anodized 80
Link Posted: 7/29/2018 7:30:10 PM EDT
[#1]
I've used MolyResin on two or three 100% A2 receivers back in the day.

So spraying an anodized lower you just need to degrease or and spray.  The MolyResin will stick just fine.

I've never used it on bare aluminum before so l really can't help you there.  I imagine you'll have to rough it up, via blasting,  somehow though.
Link Posted: 7/29/2018 8:41:38 PM EDT
[#2]
Thank you!
Link Posted: 7/30/2018 7:14:13 PM EDT
[#3]
So I am going to update my thread. I wrote John Norrell an email and he responded a few hours later. How is that for customer service? He took the time to write the following back to me. I will copy and paste it here.

Here were my questions:

1. When applying Moly Resin to an already anodized lower do I need to media blast that part first? If so, how aggressive does that need to be? I have never done this so hopefully that question makes sense.

2. When buying an 80% lower would you recommend a raw one or one that has been anodized? What would be the process to apply the resin to a raw aluminum lower?

I plan on using aluminum oxide to blast whatever parts need it.

Here is his answer:

Mike, Nice to hear from you.