Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/29/2018 5:36:01 PM EDT
I'm about 90% sure this is a dumb question, but I feel the need to ask it anyway.

I've decided I'm going to start traveling a bit to some different USPSA events.  I've signed up for the Western States Single Stack Championship in Arizona.  I've only ever shot competitively around Wyoming and Montana, at 5000 - 5500' ASL, and Costa Mesa is at 98' ASL.  My load is right on the low end of what qualifies for Major Power Factor.  So the question is, will the denser atmosphere of the lower elevation cause me to lose velocity in any measurable way?  It would be a pain in the ass to spend two days driving to a match and then not make power factor.
Link Posted: 10/29/2018 5:44:56 PM EDT
[#1]
yes.  chrono it there or use a good ballistic calculator that has altitude inputs to give you the differences.

I am no expert, but altitude was one thing I remembered from my last class that does matter.
Link Posted: 10/29/2018 5:53:56 PM EDT
[#2]
Air is thinner at altitude, this reduces drag on the bullet at longer ranges. Less drift and drop compared to sea level.

Small (1500 - 2000) foot changes won't have anywhere near the effect that a 6,000 to 9,000 foot change will.

The opposite is also true. If you live and develop your loads at 6k or 7k feet don't be surprised when you're at sea level when you need more elevation and windage for identical conditions.
Link Posted: 10/29/2018 5:55:11 PM EDT
[#3]
Very much so, I worked up my load at sea level, choreographed it, had it down.  Went to a class at 5300 ft. I had to completely disregard my previous ballistics and get new 'come ups'.
Link Posted: 10/29/2018 6:20:21 PM EDT
[#4]