Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/15/2018 9:33:54 AM EDT
I’m looking to set up a low profile, minimalist chest rig that can easily swap between AR 30 rounders and AK 30 rounders.

I’m strongly considering HSGI taco Mag pouches so I can have one setup useable with either mag.

Anyone face experience with AK mags in the Tacos?  From the pictures I see it looks like between 1/3 to 1/2 if an AK Mag fits in the taco, sndvI don’t know if this will be secure.  I have no experience with the HSGI taco, do thought I’d ask here.
Link Posted: 6/15/2018 10:01:53 AM EDT
[#1]
Yes they work.  They feel more top heavy than an AR or 7.62 magazine.
Link Posted: 6/15/2018 12:20:40 PM EDT
[#2]
Yeah, they'll work, but they do better with 5.45 as opposed to 7.62. Personally, I have the Crye mag pouches on my AVS and they fit 5.56, 5.45 and my SCAR H's mags as well.
Link Posted: 6/15/2018 12:55:16 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Yeah, they'll work, but they do better with 5.45 as opposed to 7.62. Personally, I have the Crye mag pouches on my AVS and they fit 5.56, 5.45 and my SCAR H's mags as well.
View Quote
Is there a better option for 7.63x39 that will also work with AR mags?  I’m not married to HSGI, they just seem to be fairly popular as a “universal” mag carrier?
Link Posted: 6/15/2018 1:18:57 PM EDT
[#4]
When I still had an AK they worked just fine with AK mags.  I did switch to using nothing but 20 round mags because they were shorter and less bulky than carrying the larger 30 rounders.
Link Posted: 6/15/2018 1:22:56 PM EDT
[#5]
I've got Tacos on my Pig plate carrier and using AK 20 rounders both steel and Magpul seems to work nice dropping in both weight and bulk.
I like that I can swap between 7.62x51mm mags, AK 7.62 and 5.45, and 5.56mm/300Blk all using the same Tacos.
Link Posted: 6/15/2018 1:56:40 PM EDT
[#6]
Quoted: