Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/22/2022 9:38:47 AM EDT
It would be great to have some insight from experienced individuals concerning these two thermal optics.  Both share identical features, and thermal resolution of 256x192.

What optic would provide the most benefit, from 50 - 125 yards.  I'm thinking that the reduced FOV is a worthwhile trade-off, for ultimately, increased optical performance at range with this resolution.  I'm already using a thermal monocular for spotting.  

Theoretically, the TS25-256 should look visually similar to an AGM Rattler TS35-384, if magnified once beyond it's base of 2.14X magnification.  I'm not an expert, that's why I'm asking here.  

TS19-256 (2.5X base magnification)
FOV: 9.24° × 6.94°

TS25-256 (3.5X base magnification)
FOV: 7.03° × 5.28°
Link Posted: 9/23/2022 12:42:16 AM EDT
[#1]
Are there newer models out?  My ts-25 rattler is a 384.
Link Posted: 9/23/2022 12:46:55 AM EDT
[#2]
I would not pay more than $300 for a 256 thermal.

Even then it’s not too useful and resale will be terrible
Link Posted: 9/23/2022 11:51:17 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I would not pay more than $300 for a 256 thermal.

Even then it’s not too useful and resale will be terrible
View Quote

Dunno if I completely agree. I’ve got an AGM 160 and you can definitely make out a person/dog/similar at 110 yards. At least.
Link Posted: 9/23/2022 5:02:41 PM EDT
[#4]