Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 12/18/2013 11:13:49 PM EDT
Back in January, I committed to purchasing a set of dies to swage .224 jacketed bullets from .22LR brass.  After a long wait, I received the last dies in my set last week.  I've posted a couple of references to swaging in other threads, and was asked if I'd do a write-up outlining the process.  

First, though, let me be clear - I'm not an expert at this yet.  I've successfully made my own bullets, but I'm a noob compared to those that I learn from over at the CB swaging forum.  Some of those folks hang out here too and I'm sure they (and others) will chime in with additional info.  That said, I'm sharing what I did and what's worked for me so far.  So.... here goes.  There will be 8 posts:

Part 1:  Swaging Equipment

The equipment required to swage bullets can range from mild to wild.  Part of my strategy for swaging bullets includes doing it in a reasonably cost effective manner.  I will pay for quality when the task requires a quality tool to achieve the best outcome (i.e. my choice of dies).  On the other hand, if a simple / cheap tool is effective, I’ll usually pick that as opposed to a more expensive, but only marginally more effective alternative (i.e. my choice of annealing tools).  There are many choices to be made, and in some cases, ‘better’ equipment is available.  As with the rest of this site, this section reflects the decisions I made (your mileage may vary).