Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/31/2015 11:57:58 AM EDT
I am new to bowhunting; this will be my first year.  We recently purchased a home with about 3 acres of woods surrounded by another 40 that we do not own.  As I am preparing for the hunting season, I have starting cutting some trails into the woods that I thought of using for riding (bike/ATV) as well as hunting.  I have heard some people, where I work, say I should stay out of the woods as much as possible or the deer will start moving further back on to land we do not own.  I have also heard some people say to use our land how we see fit and the deer will just get used to the different scents left behind.

I do have two distinct deer trails through my property.  I have put up one ladder stand, through some apples out about 10 yards from it, and they disappeared quickly with tracks all around.

Should I be concerned about playing in the woods throughout the year?
Start staying out of the woods late summer maybe?
Link Posted: 8/31/2015 12:05:26 PM EDT
[#1]
Where is their food source? Where is their water source? Where is their bedding area?

If none of that is in your immediate area and you give them reason to leave they will. If those do exist and the animals get chased frequently they will find new sources.

IMO you should be able to use your property the way you want and not chase them off the other owners forty acres. That should be a large enough buffer if sheltered area is scarce in your vicinity.

Are you able to hunt the neighbor's property?
Link Posted: 8/31/2015 12:19:10 PM EDT
[#2]
You should stay out of your hunting areas at least 3 months prior to the season. If you go in, go in quietly and de-scented.

Most people do not do this and they push deer to unpressured areas. Your property might be an unpressured area, same with the 40 acres next to you if nobody is in there and there is food and bedding.